A day in the life of a medieval teenage pilgrim – Birte Kristiansen and Petra Sijpesteijn

From TED Ed.

Join siblings Hisham and Asma in medieval Baghdad as they prepare and gather supplies for the hajj, a holy pilgrimage to Mecca.

It’s 791 CE. As the morning sun shines on the Golden Gate Palace, brother and sister Hisham and Asma prepare for the journey of a lifetime: the hajj, a holy pilgrimage to Mecca. They intend to travel with the big hajj caravan— but a last-minute mishap threatens to undo months of careful planning. Birte Kristiansen and Petra Sijpesteijn detail a day in the life of siblings in medieval Baghdad.

Lesson by Birte Kristiansen and Petra Sijpesteijn, directed by Mohammad Babakoohi.

Support Our Non-Profit Mission
Support us on Patreon: http://bit.ly/TEDEdPatreon
Check out our merch: http://bit.ly/TEDEDShop

Connect With Us
Sign up for our newsletter: http://bit.ly/TEDEdNewsletter
Follow us on Facebook: http://bit.ly/TEDEdFacebook
Find us on Twitter: http://bit.ly/TEDEdTwitter
Peep us on Instagram: http://bit.ly/TEDEdInstagram

Keep Learning
View full lesson: https://ed.ted.com/lessons/a-day-in-the-islamic-golden-age-birte-kristiansen-and-petra-sijpesteijn
Dig deeper with additional resources: https://ed.ted.com/lessons/a-day-in-the-islamic-golden-age-birte-kristiansen-and-petra-sijpesteijn#digdeeper

Animator’s website: https://mohammadbabakoohi.tumblr.com

Thank you so much to our patrons for your support! Without you this video would not be possible! Conder Shou, ntiger, Noname, Hansan Hu, David D, Mac Hyney, Keith Ellison, robin valero walters, Lynne Truesdale, Gatsby Dkdc, Matthew Neal, Denis Chon, Julian Oberhofer, Monte Carroll, Eddy, Jay M, Constantino Victor Delgado, Andrea Galvagni, Andrew Tweddle, Laurel-Ann Rice, Fernando A. Endo, Helen Lee, pam morgan, sarim haq, Gerardo Castro, Michel-Ange Hortegat, Enes Kirimi, Amaury BISIAUX, ND, Samyogita Hardikar, Vanessa Graulich, Vandana Gunwani, Abdulmohsin Almadi, AJ Lyon, Geoffrey Bultitude, Mi Mi, Thomas Rothert, Brian Elieson, Oge O, Weronika Falkowska, Nevin Spoljaric, Sid Chanpuriya, Anoop Varghese, David Yastremski, Noah Webb, Roberto Chena, Oliver Koo, Luke Pisano, Andrea Gordon and Aleksandar Donev.