Scientists are obsessed with this lake – Nicola Storelli and Daniele Zanzi

From TED Ed.

Explore the depths of Lake Cadagno, a meromictic lake that is considered a model for Earth before the Great Oxidation Event.

In the millions of years since oxygen began saturating Earth’s oceans and atmosphere, most organisms have evolved to rely on this gas. However, there are some places where oxygen-averse microorganisms like those from Earth’s earliest days have re-emerged. And one such place is hidden high in the Swiss Alp’s Piora Valley. Nicola Storelli and Daniele Zanzi dive into the depths of Lake Cadagno.

Lesson by Nicola Storelli and Daniele Zanzi, directed by Ivana Volda, Thomas Johnson Volda.

A special thanks to Francesco Di Nezio, Bruno Giussani, Raffaele Peduzzi, Sandro Peduzzi, Samuele Roman, and Mauro Tonolla who provided information and insights for the development of this video.

Support Our Non-Profit Mission
Support us on Patreon:
Check out our merch:

Connect With Us
Sign up for our newsletter:
Follow us on Facebook:
Find us on Twitter:
Peep us on Instagram:

Keep Learning
View full lesson:
Dig deeper with additional resources:

Thank you so much to our patrons for your support! Without you this video would not be possible! Cyrus Garay, Samuel Barbas, LadyGeek, Marin Kovachev, Penelope Misquitta, Hans Peng, Gaurav Mathur, Erik Biemans, Tony, Michelle, Katie and Josh Pedretti, Hoai Nam Tran, Kack-Kyun Kim, Michael Braun-Boghos, zjweele13, Anna-Pitschna Kunz, Edla Paniguel, Thomas Mungavan, Jaron Blackburn, Venkat Venkatakrishnan, ReuniteKorea, Aaron Henson, Rohan Gupta, Begum Tutuncu, Brian Richards, Jørgen Østerpart, Tyron Jung, Carsten Tobehn, Katie Dean, Ezgi Yersu, Gerald Onyango, alessandra tasso, Doreen Reynolds-Consolati, Manognya Chakrapani, Ayala Ron, Eunsun Kim, Phyllis Dubrow, Ophelia Gibson Best, Paul Schneider, Joichiro Yamada, Henrique Cassús, Karthik Cherala, Clarence E. Harper Jr., Vignan Velivela, Ana Maria, Exal Enrique Cisneros Tuch, Tejas Dc, Khalifa Alhulail, Martin Stephen, Jose Henrique Leopoldo e Silva, Mandeep Singh and Abhijit Kiran Valluri.